Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Joanne from Hong Kong in her gown from http://www.ctmercantile.com

It’s always such an honor to be a part of a wedding. We’ve had the privilege of our vintage gowns being worn by several brides around the world. Joanne, from Hong Kong, just sent this photo. She looks exquisite and oh so happy! It’s always interesting to see who, in what part of the world, will want a certain style of vintage. This simple beaded dress is understated and lovely and looks perfect on Joanne.

I had the opportunity to be in Hong Kong for a few days once. It was fascinating! and there was so much good shopping- everything from antique Chinese to current goods. I loved watching the Chinese junks out on the water. All my life I’ve been intrigued by Chinese culture. Once when I was very young I made a little Chinese garden in a dish….and I loved the story Mom used to tell us of the Chinese lovers in the blue willow pattern on a plate. A sad and (probably not true) famous story.

My trip to Hong Kong occurred when I was spending a year in Taiwan teaching English. I remember Hong Kong feeling like the U.S. in comparison to the little town of Keelung, Taiwan, where I was living. It was Christmas time and I was missing home a bit when I visited there to renew my Visa. I found my self in a gorgeous shopping mall that had the same Christmas decorations as I had seen in Copley mall in Boston!- huge hanging snow flakes and ornaments…and every where people were speaking English. At any other time in my life Hong Kong would have felt excitingly foreign but that visit was like a 2 day trip home because of those little things as well as all the visitors from all over the world, which I was used to seeing in Boston. Someday I hope to return. Maybe I’ll run into Joanne- now that would be incredible!

